FAH-Addict Forum

High Tech Chat » How do I install folding in Ubuntu VM? Split from core v2.10 performance thread
On 10/27/2009 at 22h55

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
OK, toTOW, you genius, you, I installed Ubuntu Server 8.04 in Player 3 on an XP box- Q6600@3.4. Now, how the heck do I put folding in there? Does this guide apply to what I'm trying to do?

http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/cgi-bin/edit/English/LinSMPGuide

Even if it does, I don't understand it. I really need slow and careful instructions for this (click this, type that, etc.). Anyone care to play tutor to the illiterate?

Currently, the 2 VMs running notfred's with tear's fix are doing 5100 PPD total. If a 4-core SMP in Ubuntu will beat that, I'd really like to learn.

   
On 10/28/2009 at 05h18

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
Here's my quick and dirty list:

After Ubuntu install:
Set screen res and shutdown screen saver
System, Prefrences, Keyboard shut off repeat
1. sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
2. sudo apt-get install samba
3. mkdir ~/FAH or whatever you want to call it.
4. set up to share with permissions for full access
5. sudo gedit /etc/samba/smb.conf
Set up workgroup name and security = share, remove ; from lines
[FAH]
path = /home/felix2/FAH
available = yes
browsable = yes
public = yes
writable = yes
save and sudo /etc/init.d/samba restart
7. dl folding from regular download site
I often ended up using fah6_alt

notfreds is much easier....



Edit by Weedacres On 10/28/2009 at 05h20

   
On 10/28/2009 at 05h35

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
Here's a pretty good set of directions although they are somewhat outdated. I used this for my first VMWare/Ubuntu install. The syntax and overall directions will still be relevant.

http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=47827]


   
On 11/02/2009 at 02h19

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
I'm not ignoring you, Weedacres. Time's been tight, but I'm struggling through this right now. I only though I had Ubuntu installed. I'm about an hour and a half into installation. I hope I have time to get folding installed on it tonight.

P.S., I also bought the cooler you recommended, but haven't had the time to move everything to the new box.

edit- Not going well, mainly because I don't have a clue what I'm doing. Ubuntu Server 8.04 installed in Player 3. VMware Tools downloaded, but I don't understand the instructions to install it. It took over an hour to get the syntax correct to download the client. Since it couldn't find fah6, I assume the client still compressed somewhere...

I have some reading ahead of me. You are so right- notfred's is easier. toTOW must be slapped repeatedly for telling me to do this.:think



Edit by uncle fuzzy On 11/02/2009 at 04h24

   
On 11/02/2009 at 11h01

Administrator

Group: Administrator

Signed up since: 10/08/2009
Messages: 27
VMware tools are useless for server distros. you can focus on setup the client.

VMTools are usefull with GUI.

   
On 11/02/2009 at 16h45

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
uncle fuzzy:

edit- Not going well, mainly because I don't have a clue what I'm doing. Ubuntu Server 8.04 installed in Player 3. VMware Tools downloaded, but I don't understand the instructions to install it. It took over an hour to get the syntax correct to download the client. Since it couldn't find fah6, I assume the client still compressed somewhere...

I have some reading ahead of me. You are so right- notfred's is easier. toTOW must be slapped repeatedly for telling me to do this.:think


Ha,, you have to remember that the penguin followers get a bit carried away about doing things "right".

You might find it easier to start with the regular Ubuntu rather than server. It's gui based and with all of the command line stuff you have to do will still give you a good ojt on Linux. I would stick with 8.04, it seems to be the last reliable folding version.
BTW, the quick list I posted earlier was for the workstation version, not server. I should have mentioned that.



Edit by Weedacres On 11/02/2009 at 16h47

   
On 11/02/2009 at 17h39

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
I went back to the Stanford install link and found both your list and your link didn't have the "tar" line to unpack the client. I got that taken care of and tried to start the client, but it only found 1 core (Q6600) and shut down. I fired up the 4-core notfred's, again.

Starting in Ubuntu, I used "-smp 4 -forceasm -verbosity 9 -oneunit".



Edit by uncle fuzzy On 11/02/2009 at 17h46

   
On 11/02/2009 at 17h53

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
uncle fuzzy:
I went back to the Stanford install link and found both your list and your link didn't have the "tar" line to unpack the client. I got that taken care of and tried to start the client, but it only found 1 core (Q6600) and shut down. I fired up the 4-core notfred's, again.

Starting in Ubuntu, I used "-smp 4 -forceasm -verbosity 9 -oneunit".


If you're talking about http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=47827]] step 9 covers that, you obviously have to update the version number. In my quick and dirty I did miss that, sorry.

Did you dl and install the ia-32 libs?

   
On 11/02/2009 at 18h02

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
Weedacres:
uncle fuzzy:
I went back to the Stanford install link and found both your list and your link didn't have the "tar" line to unpack the client. I got that taken care of and tried to start the client, but it only found 1 core (Q6600) and shut down. I fired up the 4-core notfred's, again.

Starting in Ubuntu, I used "-smp 4 -forceasm -verbosity 9 -oneunit".


If you're talking about ]]http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=47827]] step 9 covers that, you obviously have to update the version number. In my quick and dirty I did miss that, sorry.

Did you dl and install the ia-32 libs?

Yes. I used your list through step 5, then got lost. I went to your link, and it looked like I was at step 9. I think the frustration of 27 attempts to type the line correctly to download the client made me miss the end of step 9 and I went straight to 10.

Once I found my problem and got the thing unpacked, I configured it fine. It just failed to see more than 1 core when I started it.

Should I have grabbed v6.24? I have 6.02, the one I saw in notfred's.

   
On 11/02/2009 at 19h00

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
Quotation:
Should I have grabbed v6.24? I have 6.02, the one I saw in notfred's.

Yes, you should use the 6.24beta. I think I mentioned that the link was outdated, should have made that clearer.

   
On 11/02/2009 at 19h05

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
I'll get in there and download the newer one. It'll be 6 hours until the notfred's finishes and I can try starting this again.

The 6.02 is still on the download page, so I just grabbed the one I "knew".

Now I get to mis-type that line many, many times, again.:clap

Got it right the first time. I'm guessing it overwrote the 6.02, because -configonly gave me the extra lines after Machine ID. Still 6 hours 'til I can try this.

Will this give me permanent folders/logs I can find, or just the smoke and mirrors I have with notfred's.



Edit by uncle fuzzy On 11/02/2009 at 19h17

   
On 11/02/2009 at 21h51

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
uncle fuzzy:
I'll get in there and download the newer one. It'll be 6 hours until the notfred's finishes and I can try starting this again.

The 6.02 is still on the download page, so I just grabbed the one I "knew".

Now I get to mis-type that line many, many times, again.:clap

Got it right the first time. I'm guessing it overwrote the 6.02, because -configonly gave me the extra lines after Machine ID. Still 6 hours 'til I can try this.

Will this give me permanent folders/logs I can find, or just the smoke and mirrors I have with notfred's.

I think you can get the older versions but the latest is here:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download] unless you need fah_alt or fah_static (I forget the exact spelling).

Using the workstation version of Ubuntu you don't need to type in the tar etc, just double click it and untar window opens magically. Instead of wget you can use a browser to point to the download link.

The regular linux client won't wipe out fahlog like notfreds does, and I think it keeps the previous version as well. You can find the current log in notfreds, via either the web browser or over your network.

   
On 11/03/2009 at 00h17

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
I did install the 6.24beta. Now that I know about it, using tar isn't a problem. The logs for all the notfred's clients are in my "favorites". Where will I find the Linux logs, once I run it? 1 hour 12 minutes and counting.

   
On 11/03/2009 at 01h33

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 01/09/2009
Messages: 46
uncle fuzzy:
I did install the 6.24beta. Now that I know about it, using tar isn't a problem. The logs for all the notfred's clients are in my "favorites". Where will I find the Linux logs, once I run it? 1 hour 12 minutes and counting.

They'll be in whatever folder/directory you set up for the fah client to reside in.

   
On 11/03/2009 at 02h25

Quark

Group: Member

Signed up since: 14/09/2009
Messages: 38
Well. it still isn't working. Anyone with some ideas?



Firing up the 4-core notfred's.



Edit by uncle fuzzy On 11/03/2009 at 02h26

   
High Tech Chat » How do I install folding in Ubuntu VM? Split from core v2.10 performance thread  
1 User online : 0 Administrator, 0 Moderator, 0 Member and 1 Visitor
User online : No member online
Answer
You aren't allowed to write in this category